

### Structure and Remit of the Members and the Board of Governors at Bishop Vesey's Grammar School

In April 2012 Bishop Vesey's Grammar School became an Academy Trust School and as such is a Private Company Limited by Guarantee, registration number 07986921.

The members of an academy trust have a different status from the trustees. The members are the subscribers to the trust's memorandum of association, and any other individuals permitted to become members under its articles of association. Members have an overview of the governance arrangements of the trust and have the power to appoint some trustees and remove these trustees. Members can amend the articles and may do so to support stronger governance arrangements. The Members of the Academy are:

Mr Peter Dines, Mr Andy O'Brien, Mr Mark Maybury, Mrs Julie Robson and Mr William Potter.

The trustees (known as Governors at this school) are the people responsible under the academy trust's articles of association for controlling its management and administration. They have responsibility for directing its affairs, and for ensuring that it is solvent, well-run, and delivering the trust's charitable outcomes for the benefit of the public.

The Memorandum and Articles of Association of the Academy Trust and the annual report and accounts can be found in the policies and statements section of the website.

All Governors are appointed for a term of 4 years and can be re-appointed for a further term. The chair of Governors is elected for a term of 1 year in September each year.

## **Declarations of Interest**

Individual declarations of interest of Members and Governors are noted below with further details available where necessary from the clerk.

The current Board of Governors is composed as follows:

Governor Name	Category of Appointment	Position of responsibility	First appointment to Governing Body	Expiry of current appointment	Meetings Attended 2022-2023	Other relevant Declarations of Interest
Mr Waseem Ahmed	Appointed by the Members	Deputy Chair of Governors	04/01/2022	03/01/2026	10/10	None
Mr Sean Andrews	Parent Governor		14/06/2022	13/06/2026	1/1	London Institute of Banking and Finance – Financial education provider
Mr Ravinder Bhandal	Co-opted Governor	Link Governor for Careers	7/9/2020	6/9/2024	6/10	Director of Redmonkey Cocktail Bar Ltd
Mr John Collins	Parent Governor		20/06/2023	19/06/2027	1/1	Director of The Fabric Vault
Mr Bineet Desai	Vesey Community Governor		30/01/2023	29/01/2027	5/6	None
Mrs Sonia Foxall	Vesey Community Governor		22/05/2023	21/05/2027	3/3	Director Foxall Financial Services Ltd Partner - Trustee Sutton Coldfield Adventure Unit
Mrs Andreea Gamulescu	Vesey Community Governor		02/10/2023	01/10/2027	N/A	None
Mr Mark Jordan	Vesey Community Governor		27/03/2023	26/03/2027	4/4	Director Gemini Devices Director Help Ltd Director PMJ Management Director 1 <sup>st</sup> Avenue Properties
Mr Mark Maybury	Appointed by the Members	Chair of Governors Link Governor for Safeguarding	16/12/2019	15/12/2023	11/11	Trustee of Sutton Coldfield Baptist Church. Trustee of BVGS Foundation Charity.
Mr Ian Myatt	Vesey Community Governor	Chair of Learning and Teaching Committee	09/05/2016	10/5/2024	11/12	Director/Trustee of Performances Birmingham (Arts Charity); Employee of the University of Birmingham; other music charity interests disclosed on his webpage.
Mr Andy Quach	Co-opted Governor	Link Governor for SEND	13/12/2021	12/12/2025	6/10	Trustee of Vietnamese Family Partnerships
Dr Satish Rao	Co-opted Governor	Link Governor for the Pupil Premium	13/12/2021	12/12/2025	5/9	None
Mr Dominic Robson	Headteacher		2012		13/13	Trustee of the BVGS Foundation Charity; Partner supporting Learning Trust for Excellence Board
Mrs Andrea Wesson	Vesey Community Governor	Chair of Finance Estates and People Committee	2/10/2017	05/09/2025	7/12	Director of Eversholt Rail Group of companies.

#### Governors who have retired in the last 12 months

Governor Name	Category of Appointment	First appointment to Governing Body	Date of Retirement	Meetings Attended 2022-2023	Relevant Declarations of Interest
Mrs Joanna Davis	Vesey Governor	07/07/2014	05/12/2022	4/4	Director of Colouring in Consulting; Trustee of the BVGS Foundation Charity
Mr Andy O'Brien	Vesey Governor	11/11/2016	05/12/2022	2/3	CEO of East Staffordshire Borough Council; Member of Burton Chamber of Commerce
Mr Paul Sheriff	Vesey Governor	24/09/2018	05/12/2022	3/3	NHS Director
Mrs Rebecca Williams	Parent Governor	03/12/2020	21/03/2023	1/3	Owner of the Literacy Club

#### **Committee Structure**

Finance Estates and People	Learning and Teaching	Pay Committee	
Andrea Wesson (Chair)	Ian Myatt (Chair)	Mark Maybury (Chair)	
Waseem Ahmed	Sean Andrews	Andrea Wesson	
Ravinder Bhandal	Satish Rao	Ian Myatt	
Bineet Desai	Andy Quach		
Andreea Gamulescu	John Collins		
Sonia Foxall			
Mark Jordan			
Staff Attendees	Staff Attendees	Staff Attendees	
Headteacher	Headteacher	Headteacher	
School Finance Director	Deputy Heads	HR Manager	
	Assistant Headteachers	School Finance Director	

Clerk to the Governors

Ruth Houghton <u>r.houghton@bishopveseys.bham.sch.uk</u>

# Members of the Academy

Member Name	Appointment as Member		Meetings Attended 2022-23	Relevant Declarations of Interest
Mr Peter Dines	10/01/2019	Chair	2/2	Chief Operating Officer and Head of Life Sciences and Biosciences at Mercia Asset Management PLC; Managing Director, Mercia Ventures; Chair of the Clive Richards Foundation; Managing Trustee for the Old Veseyan Benevolent Fund
Mrs Julie Robson	10/12/18		2/2	Board Member of Big Lottery; Mentor at Ecorys; Expert Board Fareport.
Mr William Potter	10/12/18		2/2	Treasurer to the Old Veseyan Lodge
Mr Mark Maybury	05/12/2022		2/2	Trustee of Sutton Coldfield Baptist Church; Trustee of BVGS Foundation Charity.
Mr Andy O'Brien	14/12/2022		2/2	CEO of East Staffordshire Borough Council; Member of Burton Chamber of Commerce. (tbc. 2023-24)